Steve & Marla Simon
Sales Representatives
Royal LePage Locations North
Royal LePage Locations North

Town of The Blue Mountains

The Town of Blue Mountains was formed in 2001 when the former Town of Thornbury and Township of Collingwood were amalgamated.  It's primary population centre is Thornbury but it is made up of several small towns and villages such as Clarksburg, Heathcote, Ravenna, Kolapore and the area surrounding the Blue Mountains including the resort and Intrawest’s village.  But to locals, reference to living in The Blue Mountains still means the areas directly around the village and ski hills. 

The popular Blue Mountain ski resort, the many private ski clubs and the energetic, bustling vibe of the Intrawest’s village – which includes 70+ restaurants and shops – attracts an abundance of part time residents.  This brings an eclectic and unique blend of city sensibilities and country values to the area.   

And there is more than just alpine skiing to keep you active.  The area is also known for snowshoeing, cross country skiing and  snowmobiling, as well as many summer activities such as golfing, cycling and hiking.  If water is your thing, there’s always the crystal blue Georgian Bay with its many beaches, and even a harbour situated in Thornbury. 

The Town of Blue Mountains is committed to being a progressive four-season community offering a healthy and supportive lifestyle for residents and visitors alike.


Useful links:

The Blue Mountains trail map